SPOILERS!

scarlet-cover-big_thumb

Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
My Rating: starstarstar/5
Goodreads Description: 
Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.  
Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

My Review:
Scarlet follows the story based off of the fairy-tale, Little Red Riding Hood. Scarlet’s grandmother has been missing for 2 weeks now, an unexpected departure, leaving Scarlet so worried, that she goes off to find her herself. On this journey, Scarlet meets a handsome but mysterious boy, who is named Wolf.

If I were Scarlet, I already would have had warning bells going off in my head just by his name, and also not to mention the fact that he has insanely sharp CANINES and that he almost killed the man in the abandoned farmhouse.

not-today2

But I understand where she was coming from, especially since he was the only person who had a lead on where her grandma was. If I were in her position, I’d probably do the same thing, but my life isn’t a fantasy novel, no matter how hard I wish it to be. (It’s also a bonus that Wolf is a cutie pie).

I liked how Marissa Meyer told us Scarlet’s story, in a way that it weaved in with Cinder’s. It was really interesting to hear that Scarlet’s grandmother had been one of the few people who had helped bring Cinder to Earth, and how it affected their family again, all these years later.

I wished we had a bit more information about Logan Tanner, and maybe even a bit about his relationship with Michelle Benoit. I know Scarlet was saying it was like a one-night stand, but I’m definitely getting the vibe that it was much more than that. Hopefully they discuss it in more depth in the next few books.

CAPTAIN THORNE. Or more correctly stated, Carswell Thorne.

tumblr_m81glf4x8c1rup7ov

I think Thorne really redeemed this book for me. I wasn’t enjoying Scarlet’s POV all that much, and when it came to his interactions with Cinder, those were definitely some of my favorite parts.

He’s such a likeable character, and I can’t wait to see him more in Cress!

Thorne let out a low whistle. “I know, I know. She seems a little”—crossing his eyes, he swirled both fingers around his ears—“but it’s really part of her charm, once you get to know her.”

Some Issues:
I did have quite a few issues with this book, sadly saying so, since I didn’t have very many when reading Cinder.

Scarlet’s character seemed a bit much to me. She was very problematic and tended to lose her rational thoughts at times. I understand that she was going through a tough time, but it was slightly frustrating as a reader. For example, when Scarlet’s grandmother told her, (face-to-face may I mention) that Cinder was Princess Selene, Scarlet paused for a moment, wondering why that name was so familiar.

Oh, you know, it’s not like she’s the world’s most talked about person at the moment. Not a cyborg fugitive or anything. 

I also thought that this book seemed very filler to me, even though it wasn’t. It felt like it dragged along so much, to the point where I really did not want to read it anymore, because some of the scenes were boring and quite frankly, predictable. I was totally fine with the scenes in Cinder’s POV, but right when it went back to Scarlet’s…I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

And don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate Scarlet or anything, I guess I just prefer Cinder’s POV a lot more.

But I was expecting more to happen on Cinder’s part, other than the fact that they had to escape the prison. It kind of felt like all they were doing in this book was flying in space.

Who I Would Recommend To:
Obviously I would recommend this book to everyone who has already read Cinder. I know a lot of people who liked this book a lot better than the first one, and I guess it’s all just about your preference. But nonetheless, this book was still fairly good, and I’ll definitely be continuing on to Cress.

January 2nd, 2016

 

