SPOILERS!

16000044

Title: Rebel Spring
Author: Morgan Rhodes
My Rating:starstarstarstarstar
Goodreads Description:
The road to power… is paved with blood and magic.
After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.
When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.

My Review:
This book takes place a few weeks after the events of the first book, still following our 4 main characters, Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus. (Although Lucia isn’t in this book that much, thank god). Rebel Spring is more focused on what happened after the war, and how all the characters have been affected by it. For example, Cleo is a prisoner in her own kingdom, and Jonas has decided to become a Rebel.

In Rebel Spring, one of the main factors that I noticed, was how much the characters have changed and developed over the course of everything that had happened.

I really like how you can see that Cleo is becoming a lot more stronger than she was before, especially since she lost everyone she cares about. She’s basically been to hell and back, yet she’s still adamant on getting her throne back, which I totally admire.

Same thing goes for Magnus. He has been in this mindset that he should become exactly like his father for so long, that he hasn’t really been able to become his own person. And I’m glad that he finally realized that. Even his mom, (totally did not expect her to die btw) knew that Magnus didn’t have a heart made of ice like he claims.

Jonas’ character seemed kind of the same to me. He was still fighting for the same motive, of freeing Paelsia, but is now the leader of his group of Rebels. And I think he does have enough passion and will to stay the leader, despite a few of his careless mistakes.

But I honestly think Lucia’s character changed the most. You could really see how the magic has been affecting her, and how this darkness is slowly consuming her. I have to admit, I really dislike Lucia for some reason. Like I just find her super annoying, but I’m hoping she can redeem herself, since I was rooting for her a bit during the last few pages of this book.

jennifer-lawrence-maybe-i-like-you-maybe-i-dont

LET’S GET INTO THE PLOT TWISTS, (that I was totally not expecting, but should have).

First off…King Gaius kills Mira. Like what? I did not expect that at all. I was just reading the book and then bam. The King just snaps her neck like he does that to people on a daily basis, (but to be honest, he probably does).

I was honestly so upset. I loved Mira. She was so nice, and was such a support to Cleo when she was dealing with the loss of everything.

And then also, literally like 2 chapters later, the Queen dies.

I was not prepared for that either. I felt bad for the Queen, because her opinions had always been pushed aside since she had such an overpowering husband, but I didn’t expect her to die.

Although, I think it was pretty obvious that she was the one who was putting Lucia to sleep all this time. Why else would she visit her daughter, when she claimed to have pretty much hated her in the first book?

I had originally thought that the King had killed Queen Althea, (which he technically did) but I knew for sure it wasn’t Jonas.

While I was reading the book, I was like, hmm… I wonder who framed Jonas, that also had the JEWELED DAGGER.

I guess I just wasn’t thinking properly, because the obvious answer was Aron. This part kind of reminded me of the whole wand belongs to the wizard thing in Harry Potter. Like how the elder wand belonged to Draco because he won it from Dumbledore, contrast to how the dagger was originally Aron’s, yet was taken by Jonas. And everyone thought that Jonas was the one with the dagger who killed the Queen; Voldemort thinking it was Snape who won the elder wand, when it actually still belonged to Draco.

But in the end, Aron had somehow gotten his dagger back, and used it to kill the Queen, under orders from King Gaius. This part really got to me, because it shows just how ruthless the King really is, that he can just kill these 2 people without a shred of sympathy.

At least the only good thing that came out of this, is that Aron’s dead 🙂

Holy cow I was also not expecting Nic and Prince Ashur? Is this going to be a thing? Because I really want this to be a thing. And just when I thought this book couldn’t get any better…

tumblr_mx7uryywsx1t5t8u8o1_250

One thing that I also want to point out is that I really hope to see some more progress in Magnus and Cleo’s relationship. They got married in the beginning of the book, but you can tell there’s something going on between these two.

“He slid his fingers through long silky hair, which unexpectedly changed from ebony to pale gold.”

I think you can also begin to see that Magnus is slowly falling out of love with his adopted sister Lucia. It’s not that noticeable, but you can kind of tell that Lucia doesn’t claim all of his thoughts anymore.

I’m glad that we got more information on the Watchers, and that we actually got to go to the Sanctuary in Lucia’s POV. It was interesting that Melenia was working with King Gaius, and was the one to tell him to construct this road that claimed the lives of so many Paelsian’s.

I was hoping that Cleo would have given Lucia the ring, at the end of the book, but she didn’t. Which was understandable, given the circumstance, and how Cleo could use this information to her own advantage. Though, I really hope they can somehow become friends because I just feel bad for the both of them.

Anyways, I absolutely adored this book, and can’t wait to read Gathering Darkness after midterm week is over. This series is just so addicting and fantastic, its like you are getting sucked into the pages.
-Ashley
January 9th, 2016

