SPOILERS!
Review for the first book in this series, Falling Kingdoms

frozentides_cover

Title: Frozen Tides
Author: Morgan Rhodes
My Rating: starstarstarstarstar
Goodreads Description:
Rebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne.                

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.
MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.
LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.
JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

My Review:
In the 5th book of the Falling Kingdoms series…shit goes down.

Everyone is bursting with the need to claim a piece, (if not all) of the Kindred. I find this so amusing, since basically everyone wants it, yet no one knows how to actually use it and claim it’s power.

We start the book with Magnus, as he decides to stay in Limeros and take the throne there. I loved that we got introduced to more of the political side of things, seeing Magnus and Cleo solve issues like a King and Queen would.

While Magnus and Cleo stay back in Limeros, we discover that King Gaius is in Kraeshia, Lucia still travelling with the Fire Kindred, and Jonas struggling with his injuries inflicted by Felix.

I knew from the beginning there was something fishy about Kyan. He showed his power countless times when he killed innocent people, but it was only to an extent. At the end of the book, when he transformed into like this huge, giant fire god…needless to say I was kind of freaked out.

tumblr_lujcm8ee3g1qhpehmo3_500

I found Lucia to be even more annoying in this book, if that were possible. I understand that she’s been through a lot, and that this darkness inside of her isn’t helping at all, but I guess I wanted her to grow stronger from all the pain she experienced, like Cleo had, instead of taking it out on others.

This part really showed how you can either accept the pain that you’ve experienced and grow stronger, or let it consume you. Cleo and Lucia had both chosen different paths, and I thought that this showed how your decisions and actions can greatly affect you.

Princess Amara is a very…intriguing character. I really like the whole women empowerment thing she has going on, but damn, this girl can be pretty damn terrifying. She’ll do anything to claim the Kindred and basically rule the world.

My favorite characters so far, still remain to be Magnus and Cleo. I just love their characters individually and when they’re together. The chemistry is off the charts. Magnus has definitely become even more sassier (if that were possible) and it added a lot of humor into this book. And Cleo… she’s just incredible. When she showed up at that council meeting and starting suggesting her totally awesome ideas, I was like ‘YES. YOU GO GIRL.’

One of my favorite parts in this book, was when Cleo said that speech about how Magnus would be a great king. It warmed my heart, because Magnus was expecting her to say the complete opposite, yet she wants him to become king, and lead their people to a better future.

Can we also talk about chapter 31. I know you know what I’m talking about. 😉

I was literally jumping up and down like a crazy person, because FINALLY. Took these two about 4 books to get together.

“She was his princess. No. She was his goddess.
With her golden skin and golden hair.
She was his light. His life. His everything.
He loved her more than anything else in this world.”

mawqez6cusa7z0m1njot

LET’S GET INTO THE PLOT TWISTS.

Kyan kills Lysandra. I was totally not expecting that. When Jonas finally told her that he loved her, I was excited to see these 2 progress in a relationship.

But no. I think what made this 10x worse was that we thought she was okay. When she took that blow of fire, and it quickly extinguished, I was like, thank god, but then Lucia was telling Nic to pull Jonas off of her as she was engulfed in flames.

I honestly didn’t expect Lysandra to die, because she was very near to being a main character. And so far our 4 mains didn’t die yet, (excluding Jonas coming back to life) but I feel as if Morgan Rhodes is slowly inching closer to killing one of them, since she wasn’t hesitant to kill Lysandra.

Also…this one completely blew my mind. Amara married to King Gaius? I was so weirded out by that! He could be her father, yet they got married. I was also thinking…Magnus practically slept with his step-mom. I couldn’t stop laughing at that. What a weird situation.

And of course, another twist. Amara kills her entire family by poisoning them. This showed just how brutal Amara could be, killing her family, making her empress. Their world definitely seems like a scary place, especially with King Gaius and Amara now ruling.

Finally, there is a twist surrounding our destined sorceress Lucia.

I was so angry at myself! I opened this book randomly, and of course the page I happen to land on, is the one where Lucia finds out she’s pregnant.

tumblr_static_filename_640_v2

I was so shocked, I had to take a moment and process everything. Of course this all makes sense though, because Eva was also pregnant, resulting in the fade of her power. But I don’t know why I just assumed she wouldn’t get pregnant after sleeping with Alexius in Gathering Darkness. 

Which also arises the question, whether or not Alexius planned for this pregnancy to happen, (which I doubt) but it’s out there floating in Lucia’s mind nonetheless.

I was also thrown off when we find out Lucia was Chief Basilius’ daughter. Did not expect that. I had thought she might’ve been born in a simple family, but nope, of course not, she’s the freakin’ prophesized sorceress for crying out loud.

I liked how everything connected because of this, since Chief Basilius pretended to be able to wield magic in the first book, based on the legends of his daughter. It was pretty discouraging though, since Lucia was searching for that one good thing in her life, but found out her father was a fake.

Ending
Sadly, King Gaius is still alive. I have no clue what Magnus will be planning to do with his father, maybe torture information out of him, but I don’t think he’ll kill him just yet. I was so annoyed. This man just doesn’t die.

How interesting was it to find out that King Gaius’ first lover was Cleo’s mom? He even told Amara that she had beautiful children, I just wasn’t expecting the ‘children’ to be Cleo and Emilia.

I guess the cruel king did have someone in his heart, before his mother took that person away. I would have thought Gaius to be a lot more sympathetic to Magnus in this case, since he should know how it feels to have someone that important taken away from you. But apparently he thinks his mother made the right choice in taking Elena away from him.

I wonder how Cleo will react when she sees Taran. I know for a fact that this will definitely cause some angst in her relationship with Magnus. I’m very intrigued to see how this will all play out.

I cannot wait for the next book! I literally marathoned this entire series in a month, and now I’m 100% positive I will be in a reading slump for quite some time. The next book title is Crystal Storm. I’m assuming this title is about the magic of the Fire Kindred? How when he uses his power, the victims turn into like shards of glass? Who knows.

Thanks for reading! Til next time 🙂
-Ashley

