No Spoilers 🙂

51791fac06ad83b1f20c93afe76b15dbe0df3b81

Title: Glass Sword
Author: Victoria Aveyard
My Rating: starstarstar.5
Goodreads Description:
Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.
But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.
Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

My Review:
Glass Sword picks up immediately after the events of the first book. This book was definitely a lot slower than Red Queen. I found the first half to be quite boring. It felt like we were just continuously going through the exact same thing, just travelling from place to place, nothing really happening.

This may be because I just re-read the first book, reason being why I find it so repetitive, but I don’t know…I didn’t find this book to be as fast-paced as Red Queen was.

I think the main reason why I enjoyed Red Queen so much, despite all the controversy surrounding it, was because of that quick reading and learning process. Of being able to grasp information quickly and move on from that.

But Glass Sword lacked that. The first half was painfully slow, and I found myself putting it down to do something else. I felt that some of the places we visited in this novel and the things that took place, were described in a way that I couldn’t picture in my mind. I had trouble grasping the concept of what was actually going on.

Now this book wasn’t all bad, there were certainly a lot of POSITIVES as well.

The second half of this book was better! The pace picked up, and we got through certain situations a lot faster. There was a lot more going on, and more action packed scenes.

The characters in this book were incredible. We got introduced to a bunch of new people who were so interesting to read about. They had a variety of different personalities which was refreshing, since I find that nowadays, characters in books have very similar traits to one another.

Our characters from the previous book were just as great. They developed so much over the course of the last book as well as this one, it’s insane.

I did however, find myself disliking Mare. She has changed quite a bit, prior to the situations she’s been through. In this book, she has the tendency to be extremely irritating. I feel like she could’ve handled situations concerning her family and friends a lot better.

Mare is way too narrow-minded. She doesn’t allow herself to really think beyond expectations. It’s kind of like only her overall decision matters, no one else’s, which really bothered me.

I enjoyed the ending of this book! Everything came together, which made the slow beginning of the book worth it. There is quite a twist at the end, that I don’t think anyone saw coming. I love how Victoria Aveyard always manages to get her readers totally shocked and blown away by the endings of her books.

I would have made a spoiler section for this book, but I really don’t have much to say after this. Sure there are a few theories and other matters that are worth discussing, but overall, I was a bit disappointed with Glass Sword.

I was hoping that it would be even better than Red Queen, and start to separate itself away from the similarities it has to other YA novels, but it didn’t. This book reminded me a lot of Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo, which isn’t a bad thing, but it felt as if I’ve read this before and am going through the same thing over again.

I’m hoping the main plot line in this series starts to pick up in book 3, even though the possible release date hasn’t been announced yet. I have no clue what’s going to happen next, but I’m super excited nonetheless.

Thanks for reading! 🙂
-Ashley

 

