No Spoilers! 🙂

Title: Me Before You
Author: Jojo Moyes
My Rating: starstarstarstar/5
Goodreads Description:
Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.
What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.
Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.
What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

My Review:
This book tore open my heart into hundreds of pieces and I loved every second of it.

I originally wasn’t going to pick this up since I’m not the biggest fan of the contemporary genre, but my sister kept pestering me to watch the trailer for this movie adaptation, and needless to say, I am eternally grateful.

I’m so glad that they are making this into a movie. If you are still iffy about picking this book up, WATCH THE TRAILER. I’m 99.9% sure you might change your mind about reading it.

As much as I sobbed my eyes out while reading this, Jojo Moyes managed to make this book equally hilarious as it was heart-breaking.

crying-waterfalls

 

Our main character Louisa Clark is one of the most unique protagonists I have ever read. She has this lively spirit and this light inside of her that never seems to diminish.

And don’t get me started on her clothing choices! I just loved reading those parts.

Louisa needs a job, and ends up becoming a caregiver for Will Traynor who is paralyzed from an accident that occurred 2 years ago. Since it is a job that requires them being around each other for long periods of time, it follows the hardships Will faces and Lou’s need to cheer him up.

This book discusses a lot of strong topics, but also gives a very good message, on how you should strive to achieve more of yourself and live your life fully. It talks about the best parts of life, but also the frustrating truth of reality.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s definitely a real eye-opener to understand situations people face all around the world. The only problem I had with it, was the slow middle section. I probably would have read this book faster, if it wasn’t for school getting in the way.

Here are a few quotes that I just loved:

“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.”

“You know, you can only actually help someone who wants to be helped.”

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

Who I Would Recommend To:
I would definitely recommend this to people who like contemporary books, especially those who like a more realistic side of things.

This book is categorized under adult, but I honestly think it depends on your maturity level, and how you deal with certain topics. It contains a few curse words and talks about sex, but it’s not to the point where it’s excessive or anything.

But yeah, even if you’re not a huge fan of contemporary, try picking this book up. It’s pretty humorous and be prepared to shed a lot of tears.

Thanks for reading!
-Ashley

