No Spoilers!

Title: Six of Crows
Author: Leigh Bardugo
My Rating: starstarstarstar.5/5
Goodreads Description:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone… A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My Review:
I was honestly pretty scared to dive into this book because of all the hype surrounding it. Literally everywhere, Instagram, YouTube, Goodreads… everyone was saying how amazing this book was and how it was like 10x better than the Grisha trilogy (which to me, was pretty hard to believe since I loved the first 2 books in that series).

So I finally picked it up and THANK GOD, it lived up to its hype.

tumblr_ne2xgj19sh1rnhnqfo1_500

It was the perfect book to read after I finished Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and was a complete and utter sobbing mess.

I don’t want to get too into the story here, since I personally think it really adds to the reading experience if you go into this one fairly blind, but I do have some things I want to discuss.

The main reason as to why I docked off half a star was because I felt that too much information being thrown my way. Like I couldn’t really understand where the characters were going and I had to re-read it a few times to get the gist of things.

This exact same thing happened to me a year ago, while I was reading the Grisha trilogy. I think it’s primarily because this world is so complex and has a lot of detail, that you need to take a bit of time to actually process every little thing.

Contrasting to how I was literally power reading through this book because I COULDN’T STOP READING it was so good.

One of the many things I absolutely loved about this book, was the characters.

Oh man, the main characters in this book were incredible. They were all so unique and diverse and different, it was fantastic.

I especially loved our main character Kaz Brekker, who seems like that dark, brooding, mysterious YA character we read a lot of (which he pretty much is) but he’s a lot more complex than that.

This book also has this slow burning romance WHICH KILLED ME. It’s told in multiple point of views, so it’s pretty much hinted at all the characters, but there’s these 2 people (I hope you guys know who I’m talking about) that I just shipped from the second chapter.

Now on to my favorite part, here is some amazing quotes from this book.

“When everyone knows you’re a monster, you needn’t waste time doing every monstrous thing.”

“Men mock the gods until they need them, Kaz.”

“Shame holds more value than coin ever can.”

“No Mourners. No Funerals.”

Who I Recommend To:
I just want to point out, you definitely do not have to read the Grisha trilogy to read this book. It takes place 2 years after the events of that series, with a completely new cast of characters.

Yes, there are a few references to things, but nothing big to worry about.

And even if you’ve read the Grisha trilogy and didn’t like it, READ THIS ONE. I guarantee you it is much better.

But yes, I definitely recommend to those who love fantasy books, especially one with such a complex and interesting world set up.

Thanks for reading! 🙂
-Ashley

