No Spoilers!

Title: The Star-Touched Queen
Author: Roshani Chokshi
My Rating: starstarstarstar/5
Goodreads Description:
Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

My Review:
The Star-Touched Queen is probably one of the loveliest books I’ve ever read.

Roshani Chokshi is literally a goddess. This is one of those books that you can’t help but notice how beautiful and elegant the writing is, with vivid details, a lot of depth and imagery.

Our main character, Maya struggles from being so enclosed in her life. She starts off as being unsure of her decisions (despite the fact that she is very cunning and perceptive).

As the book progresses, it was nice to see her character grow into a head-strong female, who was a lot more composed.

One of the things I really enjoyed in this book were the different aspects we visited, since some of the topics that were discussed, I’ve never even read about before. The Indian Mythology was definitely a plus! It was super interesting to learn more about the culture and traditions, and watching how it weaved in with the story as a whole.

I did however, have a few problems with this book, which is why I docked off a star.

The first being that the relationship between Maya and Amar seemed a bit rushed to me. I’m not saying that I didn’t like them together, because I did, but while reading the story, this factor stood out a lot.

Another problem that I found hard to get past, was how confused I was getting at some parts of the story. I think this mainly had to do with the writing style. As much as I loved it, at some points it was a bit too flowery. It was hard to grasp the main idea that was being discussed, because of all the detail.

Who I Would Recommend To:
I would recommend this book to people who love books based on mythology! The Star-Touched Queen is one of the first YA books that I’ve heard about, that contains Indian Mythology.

It’s also a stand-alone book, that is fairly short (about 360 pages long). If you really set your mind to it, you could probably finish it pretty quickly, since personally, I found it to be quite fast-paced.

I also recommend this to those of you who enjoyed books such as ACOTAR by Sarah J. Maas, or even Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge.

It’s an amazing book and I hope you get the time to read it!

-Ashley 

 

 

