No Spoilers! 

Title: Everything, Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
My Rating: starstarstarstar.5/5
Goodreads Description:
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My Review:
Just by reading that synopsis, how can you not be tempted to read this book? IT’S SO ADORABLE.

In this contemporary book, (yes, I’ve finally read a contemporary after forever :)) we follow our main character Madeline through her very unique lifestyle.

Madeline has a disease called SCID, which in short, means that her immune system is so compromised, that she cannot leave her house in fear of getting severely ill.

I loved following the book through Madeline’s perspective. It was really interesting to see how she viewed the world, given her situation, and how she overcame certain problems/difficulties.

I guess in a way, Maddy accepted her lifestyle, but of course, that all changes when she gets a new next door neighbor, Olly.

I really enjoyed the interactions between these 2 characters. It was very lighthearted and relaxed, which was a good contrast to the darker themes that this story also had.

The heavy, darker stuff wasn’t too detailed. You knew what was going on without really needing all that extra detail and I think Nicola Yoon did an excellent job on that.

The romance was super cute. I was literally squealing in every single page, probably because I just loved the characters. But yes, romance is a fairly big part in this story, since it’s what gets Maddy to experience new things.

The main reason I docked off half a star was because I wanted MORE! The ending fell a little flat, because it finished in an ‘open’ way, meaning not everything was all wrapped up as I would’ve liked it.

Not complaining though! I still really liked the ending, just wanted some more pages because I’m selfish like that! 😛

Who I Would Recommend To:
So first off, I would DEFINITELY recommend this book to people who are just starting to get into contemporary books.

This one is very light and fluffy, containing all the great elements YA contemporary books usually have, but in a way where its easy to get hooked onto from the very first page.

There aren’t really any slow moments in this book either, since it is very short. You can literally devour it in one sitting (like I did). So if you’re looking for a quick read, you want to go pick this one up!

Everything, Everything is a very heartwarming book. It leaves you with a bunch of feels during and after you’ve finished it, and it leaves this great impact on you.

I really hope you guys check it out! And thanks for reading my review!
-Ashley 

