This is the first time I’m doing one of these… so bare with me! To be honest, for the first half of August I was on a roll. I was flying through books and then I went on Netflix and my reading schedule dragged and dragged… 😦

I read 4 books this month…(well technically 3 cause one is a extremely short novella BUT IT STILL COUNTS I SWEAR).

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Authors: J.K Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany
Rating: 4/5 stars

I know a lot of people had problems with this book, but for me personally, it was a really fun ride.

I think I was definitely influenced by the fact that there was finally a new Harry Potter book, that I couldn’t allow myself to dislike it at all.

I’m not saying I didn’t have any problems with it, trust me I did. There were quite a bit of plot holes, the characters seemed a bit off, and some things didn’t entirely add up, but it was nice seeing our childhood favorite characters back for another adventure.

Sidenote: totally ship Albus and Scorpius…who else?

My Heart and other Black Holes
Author: Jasmine Warga
Rating: 3.75/5 stars

This book was one where I DNF’d it in November, for no absolute reason other than the fact that I just wanted to read something else.

I’m glad I picked it back up, reread the whole book again, and ultimately gave it almost 4 stars.

This book is about two teens who want to commit suicide together. It’s definitely very emotional so don’t go into this expecting to be happy all way through.

 Bound by Duty
Author: Stormy Smith
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
Click here for full review

Bound by Duty is a debut urban-fantasy novel that follows our main character who has been isolated her whole life, meaning she doesn’t know how to control these crazy abilities she has.

This book was very entertaining and I flew through it really quickly. I definitely appreciated all the characters. They were all relatable in a way and also pretty darn hilarious. The romance aspect was super cute and adorable…It was a good book, not bad or mind-blowing, right in between.

Crimson Dagger
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Rating: 5/5 stars

I’m counting this because I need as many books possible for my Goodreads Reading Challenge lol.

I was totally freaking out when Morgan announced this on her Twitter because I absolutely adore this series! I binge-read all the books that have been out so far during the month of February this year…and cannot wait til Crystal Storm!

This book follows one of our main characters Magnus Damora (aka BAE), before the series started. It’s heart-breaking and 7 year old Magnus is absolutely adorable. 🙂

I don’t want to spoil anything…so make sure you read this series! Each book is even better than the last!

—-

Hopefully you guys enjoyed this wrap up and weren’t too bored. 🙂 I’ll definitely do another one next month, fingers crossed to reading at least more than 4 books!

Thanks for reading!
-Ashley

