No Spoilers!

Title: Heir of Fire
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury
My Rating: 5/5 stars!
Goodreads Description:
Celaena has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak―but at an unspeakable cost. Now, she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth . . . a truth about her heritage that could change her life―and her future―forever. Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. Will Celaena find the strength to not only fight her inner demons, but to take on the evil that is about to be unleashed?

My Review:
Just to start off, this review will probably contain spoilers for the previous books in this series (Throne of Glass & Crown of Midnight) so go read them if you haven’t already!  🙂

I absolutely loved this book, which of course, isn’t a shock because Sarah J. Maas is a literal queen.

I want to start off with talking about the characters. Seeing the progression of Celaena’s character over these three books has been so pleasant to read about. We really get to see her grow in this book and become even stronger than before. And we finally get a glimpse into her past, which was pretty darn exciting.

We get introduced to a lot of new characters in this book, one of which was Rowan Whitethorn. I knew that I would like him from the start, and I have to admit, I was a bit influenced by all the fans of this series…and that definitely wasn’t a problem. 😉

I think he was definitely the person Celaena needed after everything that has happened, to really find herself.

When we first got introduced to Manon Blackbeak, I was a bit confused, like who the heck is this girl? But, to no surprise, as the book went on, I was completely obsessed with her. She’s just so crazy it’s amazing.

Plot wise, the beginning of the book started off a bit slow. We were getting our first look at this whole new setting we haven’t seen before, so it was understandable.

It did however feel a bit repetitive, in comparison to the first book. Celaena meets new people, in a new area, and has to train to prove herself. But it’s a six book series! What can you expect?

Personally, I love a good chunk of romance in a book, and was quite surprised to see that this book in particular, had very little. It was more about building connections and friendships, other than meeting someone and wanting to rush into a hardcore relationship.

The little/no romance aspect fit in perfectly with this book. Honestly, I’d be happy to just read about Celaena’s adventures without it, since it’s written so well.

If you haven’t read this book yet, I strongly recommend you do. Don’t waste 2 years putting it off like I did, because it’s really fantastic.

Thanks for reading!
-Ashley

 

 

