Who is super proud of Ashley? ME. I’M SUPER PROUD OF MYSELF.

I read 7 books this month, and I haven’t read that much all year, (I think my highest was 4 lmao) but I am very happy because I was reading all the freaking time this month and it was awesome.

It sucks because I know I won’t be able to read as much in August, because I literally have work every single day and I’m annoyed because summer meant reading all day everyday.

But…on to my wrap up for July! AND LEMME SAY…I READ SOME QUALITY BOOKS THIS MONTH. (2 books added to my forever favorites?!?! what is this?!?!)

The Fill-In Boyfriend
Author: Kasie West
My Rating: 3/5 stars

This was such an adorable read! I can always count on Kasie West’s books to cheer me up and she is definitely one of my auto-buy authors. I really loved the love interest in this one. He was so cute and such a good person I just can’t. This wasn’t my favorite Kasie West book, On The Fence still holds that title, but it was definitely a fun and quick read!

The Sun Is Also A Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
My Rating: 5/5 stars! + favorite!

Guys. Nicola Yoon did it again. Everything, Everything was one of my favorite contemporary books last year, and I thought nothing could beat it, but then she released THIS. This one mainly follows the story of two characters, Natasha whose family is being deported to Jamica, and Daniel, who is passing life through his parents desires, leading up to them meeting from these situations. Natasha and Daniel are such well developed and fleshed out characters, which brought the story so much more to life. I know a lot of people thought it was insta-love, but it didn’t feel that way to me at all! I highly, HIGHLY recommend this book to you guys. It is so fantastic and it has the most amazing cast of diverse characters. For sure one of my all-time favorites.

When Dimple Met Rishi
Author: Sandhya Menon
My Rating: 3/5 stars

If you’re looking for a summer read, you still have time to pick this one up. In this lovely contemporary novel, we follow our main character Dimple, as she struggles with the many confinements her parents present her with, the main one being arranged marriage. And so she meets Rishi, who is the most adorable and dorkiest guy ever (please protect him) who just wants to find a girl who he’ll have a nice peaceful married life with, and Dimple is having none of that. This book is seriously cute. In my opinion, I did find the first half of the book to be much much stronger and interesting than the second half, which is why I gave it a lower rating. The second half of the book fell a little flat for me, resulting in me skimming through it lol.

I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons
Authors: Kevin Hart and Neil Strauss
My Rating: 5/5 stars

Kevin Hart is literally the funniest comedian ever, and I was so excited when I saw his face while scrolling through audible. I just had to immediately buy the audiobook. It was such perfect timing too, because during that week in July, we were going on a family road trip to a bunch of places (the total drive was probably 12-18 hours) and what other time should I listen to an 11+ hour book? It was so nice to listen to it during the drive. I had expected it to be the ‘falling off my seat’ kind of laughing, and in some ways there were moments like that, but his story was also so moving and inspiring, it really made me look at Kevin much more differently, than just a comedian. He is such a hard working guy, and this book really shows the rollercoaster of events he went through to get where he is today.

The Song of Achilles
Author: Madeline Miller
My Rating: 5/5 stars + favorite

I honestly don’t even want to talk about this book. I read it more than a week ago, AND I STILL FEEL LIKE CRYING JUST THINKING ABOUT IT. Guys…this one is absolutely fantastic. I cannot believe I didn’t read it sooner. Like I’m actually SO pissed at myself for not picking it up, even though I’ve heard plenty about this book. This story is told so beautifully, I don’t even have words to express how well the author managed to write such a beautiful story in the simplistic way that she did. I’ll never stop recommending this book because its SO GOOD. Also, keep an eye out for my full review of this book, which will be out soon!

Captive Prince
Author: C.S Pacat
My Rating: 2.75/5 Stars

So this one wasn’t what I was expecting at all. After I finished The Song of Achilles, I really felt like reading a slightly similar story and whenever I searched for it, The Captive Prince would always come up, so I decided to give it a try on my Kindle. Knowing what I know about the book now, I probably would not have ever picked it up. It’s definitely not like the Song of Achilles, or like any book I’ve ever read. It is VERY very explicit and has VERY dark themes within it, and while I was reading I was just like ‘what the heck.’ I’m not entirely sure if I’m going to continue on with the series, even though it’s only like 200 ish pages each book. But I still wanna know what happens in the end, so I don’t know…

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue
Author: Mackenzie Lee
My Rating: 4.25/5 Stars

Whaaaaa?! Another audiobook? I swear I’m getting more and more obsessed with audiobooks by the second! This book is literally everything you could ever ask for in a YA novel. It has the historical aspect, diverse characters (bisexual main characters, poc main characters…) it’s such a humorous book, and its super romantic all in one. I have already written a review about this one, which will be going up in a couple of days, so I won’t say too much, other than it’s awesome and the narrator is JUST FLIPPING FANTASTIC.

Thank you guys so much for reading! Stay tuned for my full review on a couple of these books I mentioned, and let me know your favorite read of July! Mine was definitely The Song of Achilles.
Follow me on instagram!: @book_tales

