No Spoilers!

Title: Ruined
Author: Amy Tintera
My Rating: 4/5 stars!
Goodreads Description:
A revenge that will consume her. A love that will ruin her.
Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war. She lacks the powers of her fellow Ruined. Worst of all, she witnessed her parents’ brutal murders and watched helplessly as her sister, Olivia, was kidnapped.
But because Em has nothing, she has nothing to lose. Driven by a blind desire for revenge, Em sets off on a dangerous journey to the enemy kingdom of Lera. Somewhere within Lera’s borders, Em hopes to find Olivia. But in order to find her, Em must infiltrate the royal family.
In a brilliant, elaborate plan of deception and murder, Em marries Prince Casimir, next in line to take Lera’s throne. If anyone in Lera discovers Em is not Casimir’s true betrothed, Em will be executed on the spot. But it’s the only way to salvage Em’s kingdom and what is left of her family.

My Review:

Yay for this being my first read of 2017!

You know that feeling you get when you start a book and know right away that you’re going to love it? That’s what happened to me with this one. I wanted to stop listening to the audiobook so that I could fully grasp everything by reading it, BUT I forced myself to continue listening.

My experience with audiobooks are very limited, since the only others I have listened to are the first and second Harry Potter books, which I was already familiar with prior to. So going into this brand new world with no idea of what was going to happen was kind of scary, especially since I was sure that my mind would wander when listening to it, and that I wouldn’t completely understand everything.

But I was proven wrong, because this audiobook was awesome. The narrator portrayed each characters emotions so well, and I felt connected to the two main characters, more than I would have if I just read the book.

The only problem I did have with the narrator was that some voices she narrated sounded really high pitched and a bit weird, but it was only for the minor characters, so it didn’t bug me TOO much…

In this book, we follow our main character Emelina who poses to be a princess in order to infiltrate her enemies, the royal family.

The story itself felt very familiar. Not necessarily in a bad way, because I think its always good to have those books that you read just for your enjoyment. Books that are your guilty pleasure or something that you find laid back and fun. Ruined was definitely one of those books for me.

Yes it did have problems, but I was too busy enjoying the book! It was fun being swept up in this world of pretty dresses and pretty princes, watching characters make mistakes, but it being okay because it was so enjoyable to read about them getting out of it.

At some points, the characters decisions felt really irrational, which can be seen as passable, given the fact that they are around the age of 17, and still considered young. But it still bothered me because their choices were mainly based on instinct and relying on pure luck, other than following through with a fool proof plan.

Ruined is a very addicting book. Every single page has something going on, so you can’t put it down. In this way, it reminds me a lot of the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes, because even though there’s loads of action, the thing that keeps you turning the pages faster is the romance. (subtle hint to magneo :p).

And if that aspect doesn’t get you to pick this book up, it’s perfect for getting out of reading slumps. I finished the book in less than 2 days!

Thanks so much for reading my review!
-Ashley

